SRA Board Meeting 26 October, 2016

Somerset Rivers Authority Board Meeting

A meeting of the Somerset Rivers Authority Board was held in the Council Chamber at South Somerset District Council’s offices in Brympton Way, Yeovil, BA20 2HT at 10am on Wednesday, 26 October 2016.

SRA Board Summary of decisions 26 October 2016

Minutes of the Somerset Rivers Authority Board meeting on 26 October 2016

Members of SRA Board:
Cllr John Osman - Chairman (Somerset County Council)
Tony Bradford - Vice-Chairman (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
Ray Adlam (Axe Brue Drainage Board) 
Andrew Gilling (Axe Brue Drainage Board)
Cllr Anne Fraser (Sedgemoor District Council)
Nick Gupta (Environment Agency)
Matthew Heard (Natural England)
David Jenkins (Wessex Regional Flood & Coastal Committee)
David Spicer (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
Cllr Ric Pallister (South Somerset District Council)
Cllr Tom Killen (Mendip District Council) 
Cllr Anthony Trollope-Bellew
 (West Somerset Council)
Cllr John Williams (Taunton Deane Borough Council)

In Attendance: 
Nick Plumley
 (Sedgemoor District Council)
Emma Beardsley (Somerset County Council)
Tim Burton (Taunton Deane Borough Council)
Stuart Finney (Mendip District Council)
Nicola Dawson (Somerset County Council)
Sarah Diacono (Somerset Rivers Authority)
Sally Haslam (Department for Communities & Local Government)
Paula Hewitt (Somerset County Council)
Sarah Lewis (Highways England)
Dan Martin (Somerset County Council)
Graham Quarrier (Environment Agency)
Nick Stevens (Somerset Drainage Boards Consortium)
Ben Thorne (Farming and Wildlife Advisory Group South West)

Maduabuchi Ani (Highways England) 
Brendan Cleere (Taunton Deane Borough Council)
James Cruddas (Department for Communities & Local Government)  
Jeff Fear (Axe Brue Drainage Board) 
Cllr David Hall (Somerset County Council) 
Kathryn Holdsworth (DEFRA) 
Peter Maltby (Parrett Internal Drainage Board) 


1 Declarations of interest 
Purpose: Transparency    
All members
2 Minutes of previous meeting Wednesday 27 July, 2016 
Purpose: To agree accuracy    
Lead: Chair
Draft Minutes of SRA Board 27 July 2016 
3 Public Question Time 
Purpose: To give the public chance to ask questions
Lead: Chair

4 Update on the A303 scheme    
Purpose: To update the Board
Leads: Management Group Chair, Sarah Lewis 
Highways England Powerpoint presentation on A303 scheme

5 Dredging Strategy and plans     
Purpose: To update the Board    
Lead: Nick Stevens
Progress with preparation of dredging strategy 
6 Bridgwater Tidal Barrier    
Purpose: To update the Board    
Lead: Graham Quarrier
Bridgwater Tidal Barrier SchemeBridgwater Tidal Barrier Powerpoint presentation

7 Precepting legislation and next year’s funding    
Purpose: To update the Board    
Leads: Sally Haslam, Council Leaders
8 SRA 2016/17 Quarter 2 performance reports 
Purpose: By exception, to update the Board
a. Progress and risks
b. Finance    
Leads: Sarah Diacono, Emma Beardsley    
Quarter 2 2016-17 Dashboard Performance Report 
Quarter 2 2016-17 Full Performance Report  
Quarter 2 2016-17 Enhanced Programme Update Report 
Quarter 2 2016-17 Finance Update Report 
Quarter 2 2016-17 Finance Report 
9 FAP specific updates 
Purpose: To update the Board on key projects    
a. Taunton Strategic Flood Alleviation Improvements Scheme
b. SuDs (Sustainable Urban Drainage Systems)
c. Sowy/KSD (King's Sedgemoor Drain)   
Leads: Tim Burton, Dan Martin, Graham Quarrier, Nick Gupta
Taunton Strategic Flood Alleviation Improvements Scheme Powerpoint PresentationTaunton Strategic Flood Alleviation Improvements Scheme ReportUrban Water Management Report 
10 W2 Land Management update on issues 
Purpose: To update the Board    
Lead: Ben Thorne
Farming and Wildlife Advisory Group Land Management ReportFWAG SW Powerpoint presentation on land management

11 Revision of W5: Building Local Resilience    
Purpose: To update the Board    
Lead: Nicola Dawson
Building Local Resilience Report 

12 AOB 
Purpose: To raise urgent items (agreed with John Osman prior to the meeting)
Lead: Chair

If you would like to get in touch please contact us at sra@somerset.gov.uk or tel: 01823 355111
The Flood Action Plan is now overseen by the Somerset Rivers Authority and can be contacted on the above.