SRA Board Meeting 27 July, 2016

Somerset Rivers Authority Board Meeting
A meeting of the Somerset Rivers Authority Board was held in the Sedgemoor Room at Sedgemoor District Council's offices in King Square, Bridgwater at 2pm on Wednesday, 27 July 2016.

Minutes of the Somerset Rivers Authority Board meeting on 27 July, 2016

Members of SRA Board:
Cllr John Osman - Chairman (Somerset County Council)
Tony Bradford - Vice-Chairman (Parrett Internal drainage Board)
Jeff Fear (Axe Brue Drainage Board)
Cllr Anne Fraser (Sedgemoor District Council)
Nick Gupta (Environment Agency)
John Harris (Wessex Regional Flood & Coastal Committee)
Cllr Tom Killen (Mendip District Council)
Peter Maltby
(Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
Cllr Ric Pallister (South Somerset District Council)
Cllr Anthony Trollope-Bellew (West Somerset Council)
Cllr John Williams (Taunton Deane Borough Council)
David Whelon (Natural England)

In Attendance:
Doug Bamsey (Sedgemoor District Council)
Emma Beardsley (Somerset County Council)
Stuart Brown (Mendip District Council)
Rachel Burden (Environment Agency)
James Cruddas (Department for Communities & Local Government)
Sarah Diacono (Somerset Rivers Authority)
Cllr David Hall (Somerset County Council)
Sally Haslam (Department for Communities & Local Government)
Paula Hewitt (Somerset County Council)
Rob Kidson (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
Nick Stevens (Somerset Drainage Boards Consortium)
Vega Sturgess (South Somerset District Council)


David Jenkins (Wessex Regional Flood & Coastal Committee)
Cllr Harvey Siggs (Mendip District Council)


1 Declarations of interest 

Purpose: Transparency    
All members

2 Draft minutes of previous meeting Wednesday 20 April, 2016
Purpose: To agree accuracy    
Lead: Chair
Agreed SRA Board minutes 20 April, 2016

3 Draft minutes of previous meeting Monday 20 June, 2016
Purpose: To agree accuracy    
Lead: Chair
Agreed SRA Board minutes 20 June, 2016

4 Confidential Minutes - Appendix A of previous meeting Monday 20 June 2016
Purpose: To preserve the confidentiality of the item    
Lead: Chair

5 Public Question Time
The Meads residents' petition (Ilchester)
Letter from Somerset Wildlife Trust
Purpose: To give the public chance to ask questions
Lead: Chair
Petition from residents of The Meads, Ilchester

6 Finance Reports
Purpose: Progress update
Lead: Emma Beardsley
2015/16 4th Quarter Financial Update, 2015/16 4th Quarter Funding Summary, 2016/17 1st Quarter Financial Update, 2016/17 1st Quarter Funding Summary

7 SRA Progress Reports or Progress Report by exception
Purpose: Progress update
Lead: Sarah Diacono / IDB (Internal Drainage Board)
2015/16 4th Quarter Enhanced Maintenance Programme, 2016/17 1st Quarter SRA Enhanced Programme

8 SRA 5 Year Enhanced Programme     
Purpose: To update the Board on progress    
Lead: Sarah Diacono

9 Flood Action Plan specific scheme updates
Purpose: To update the Board on key projects
a. Bridgwater Tidal Barrier
c. Dredging Strategy    
Leads: Doug Bamsey, Nick Stevens
10 Precepting Legislation
Purpose: Update the Board on Government timetable and plan    
Leads: Sally Haslam / James Cruddas

11 SRA Scrutiny   
Purpose: Review of outline proposal and next steps re SRA Scrutiny
Lead: Sarah Diacono
SRA scrutiny proposal

12 AOB
Purpose: To raise urgent items (agreed with John Osman prior to the meeting)
Lead: Chair

NB: After the meeting, the 2016/17 Memorandum of Understanding will be signed.

If you would like to get in touch please contact us at sra@somerset.gov.uk or tel: 01823 355111
The Flood Action Plan is now overseen by the Somerset Rivers Authority and can be contacted on the above.