SRA Board meeting 21 October, 2015

A meeting of the Somerset Rivers Authority Board was held in the JMR Room at Taunton Deane Borough Council on the morning of 21 October, 2015. Below are links to a summary of decisions and the minutes, plus lists of those in attendance, the agenda and supporting papers.

SRA Summary of Decisions 21 October 2015

SRA Board Minutes 21 October 2015

Members of the Board

Cllr John Osman - Chairman (Somerset County Council)
Tony Bradford - Vice-Chairman (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
Ray Adlam (Axe Brue Internal Drainage Board)
Jeff Fear (Axe Brue Internal Drainage Board)
Anne Fraser (Sedgemoor District Council)
Nick Gupta (Environment Agency)
Matt Heard (Natural England)
David Jenkins (Wessex Regional Flood & Coastal Committee)
Peter Maltby (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
Cllr Ric Pallister (South Somerset District Council)
Cllr Harvey Siggs (Mendip District Council)
Cllr John Williams (Taunton District Borough Council)
Cllr Anthony Trollope-Bellew (West Somerset Council)

In Attendance

Doug Bamsey (Sedgemoor District Council)
Emma Beardsley (Somerset County Council)
Rachel Burden (Environment Agency)
Brendan Cleere (Taunton Deane Borough Council)
Dave Crowson (Environment Agency)
Sarah Diacono (Somerset Rivers Authority)
Cllr David Hall (Somerset County Council)
Paula Hewitt (Somerset County Council)
Kathryn Holdsworth (Defra)
Nick Stevens (Somerset Drainage Boards Consortium)
Iain Sturdy (Parrett IDB)
Vega Sturgess (South Somerset District Council)


1 Declarations of interest
Purpose: Transparency
All members

2 Draft minutes of previous meeting
Purpose: To agree accuracy and sign off
Lead: Chair
Draft Minutes 23 September 2015

3 Public Question Time
Purpose: To give the public chance to ask questions
Lead: Chair

4 Q2 Financial report –  progress update
Purpose: To update the Board on progress
Lead officer: Emma Beardsley
Interim Funding - Management Reporting 2015-16 Qtr 2

5 Q2 Enhanced Maintenance Programme – progress update

Purpose: To update the Board on progress and review proposal for an additional scheme
Lead officer: Iain Sturdy
Q2 Enhanced Maintenance Programme monitoring update, Q2 Enhanced Maintenance Programme Summary

6 Q2 Common Works Programme – progress update

Purpose: To update the Board on progress
Lead officer: Steve Webster
Common Works Programme update October 2015

7 Upper Tone Strategic Flood Alleviation Scheme update
Purpose: To update the Board on the progress of the Upper Tone scheme
Lead officers: Brendan Cleere, Dave Crowson
Taunton Strategic Flood Alleviation Scheme Powerpoint presentation

8 Parrett Barrier Update
Purpose: To update the Board on progress
Lead officer: Doug Bamsey
Parrett Barrier update report

9 Pioneer Dredge
Purpose: To decide on the Pioneer Dredge in the light of the maintenance dredge tenders
Lead officers: Sarah Diacono, Iain Sturdy
Dredging update report

10 Ring bank consultation
Purpose: To review consultation outcome and decide on next steps
Lead officer: Sarah Diacono
Ring Banks report

11 Leaders Status Report – by exception
Purpose: To allow the Board to raise any queries in relation to the progress of the Flood Action Plan
Lead officer: Sarah Diacono
Leaders Status Report

12 AOB
Purpose: To raise urgent items (agreed with John Osman prior to the meeting)
Lead: John Osman

No results
If you would like to get in touch please contact us at sra@somerset.gov.uk or tel: 01823 355111
The Flood Action Plan is now overseen by the Somerset Rivers Authority and can be contacted on the above.