Home / About Somerset Rivers Authority / SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel meetings and papers

SRA Scrutiny meetings and papers

The next meeting of the SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel will be held at 2pm on Monday 21 May, 2018, in the Luttrell Room at County Hall, The Crescent, Taunton, TA1 4DY. Meetings are open to the public and members of the press. To view the agenda and papers for this meeting please click here. For more information, contact Somerset County Council's Democratic Services Team on 01823-357628. Email: democraticservices@somerset.gov.uk

The Joint Scrutiny Panel’s purpose is to examine the activities of Somerset Rivers Authority and provide assurance to the SRA's constituent councils and partners that it is operating effectively.
Councils represented on the SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel are Somerset County Council, Mendip District Council, Sedgemoor District Council, South Somerset District Council, Taunton Deane Borough Council and West Somerset Council. Also represented are the Axe/Brue and the Parrett Internal Drainage Boards.
The Panel initially has 14 members: two elected members from each of the six councils and one from each Internal Drainage Board.
At their first meeting, members appointed a Chair (Julian Taylor) and a Vice-Chair (Cllr Simon Coles).

Members also discussed how to involve other stakeholders, such as the Environment Agency, Natural England, the Wessex Regional Flood & Coastal Committee and any other bodies they might deem it useful to get involved.

Members of SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel:

Cllr Eve Berry (Mendip District Council)
Cllr Roy Mackenzie (Mendip District Council)

Julian Taylor - Chair (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
David Tratt (Axe Brue Internal Drainage Board)

Cllr Kathy Pearce (Sedgemoor District Council)
Cllr Brian Smedley (Sedgemoor District Council)

Cllr Phillip Ham (Somerset County Council)
Cllr Alan Wedderkopp (Somerset County Council)

Cllr Sue Steele (South Somerset District Council)
Cllr Gerard Tucker (South Somerset District Council)

Cllr Simon Coles - Vice Chair (Taunton Deane Borough Council)
Cllr Libby Lisgo (Taunton Deane Borough Council)

Cllr Nicholas Thwaites (West Somerset Council)
Cllr Rosemary Woods (West Somerset Council)

If you would like to get in touch please contact us at sra@somerset.gov.uk or tel: 01823 355111
The Flood Action Plan is now overseen by the Somerset Rivers Authority and can be contacted on the above.