SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel information

Contents – quick links

Next meeting
Purpose of Panel
Members of Panel
Previous meetings

Next meeting of SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel

The SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel’s next meeting will be held on Friday 20 September at 10am in the Taunton Library Meeting Room, Paul Street, Taunton, TA1 3XZ.

The Panel’s most recent meeting was held on 26 February 2019 in Taunton. This meeting was originally due to be held on 1 February but was postponed because of snow. Read the agenda and papers for the SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel meeting on 26 February, 2019.

SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel meetings are open to the public and members of the press.

For more information, contact Lindsey Tawse of Somerset County Council’s Democratic Services Team on 01823-357628. Email:

Back to Top

Purpose of SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel

The Joint Scrutiny Panel’s purpose is to examine the activities of Somerset Rivers Authority and provide assurance to the SRA’s constituent councils and partners that it is operating effectively.

Back to Top

Composition of SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel

Five councils are represented on the SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel:

  • Mendip District Council
  • Sedgemoor District Council
  • Somerset County Council
  • Somerset West and Taunton Council
  • South Somerset District Council

Also represented are the Axe-Brue and the Parrett Internal Drainage Boards.

The Panel has 12 members: two elected members from each of the councils and one from each Internal Drainage Board.

List of SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel members

Cllr Nick Cottle (Mendip District Council)
Cllr Liz Leyshon (Mendip District Council)

David Tratt (Axe-Brue Internal Drainage Board)
David Vigar (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)

Cllr Brian Smedley (Sedgemoor District Council)
To be confirmed (Sedgemoor District Council)

Cllr Anna Groskop (Somerset County Council)
Cllr John Hunt – Vice-Chair (Somerset County Council)

Cllr Paul Maxwell (South Somerset District Council)
Cllr Sue Osborne (South Somerset District Council)

Cllr Simon Coles – Chair (Somerset West and Taunton Council)
Cllr Libby Lisgo (Somerset West and Taunton Council)

Back to Top

Archive of previous SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel meetings

Use the following links to find out more about previous SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel meetings:

SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel 1 February 2017
SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel 8 August 2017
SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel 5 February 2018
SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel 21 May 2018
SRA Joint Scrutiny Panel 26 February 2019

Back to Top

Back To Top