Minutes, agenda, reports

A meeting of the Somerset Rivers Authority Board was held at 10am on 23 March 2016, in the Wyndham Room at County Hall in Taunton.

Below are links to a summary of decisions taken at the meeting and the Minutes. These documents tell you what happened at the meeting.

They are followed by lists of people attending the meeting, the agenda and informative supporting documents such as reports and updates.

Documents (downloadable PDFs):

SRA Board Summary of decisions 23 March 2016
Agreed Minutes SRA Board 23 March 2016

Members of the Board:

Cllr John Osman – Chairman (Somerset County Council)
Tony Bradford – Vice-Chairman (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
Ray Adlam (Axe Brue Internal Drainage Board)
Jeff Fear (Axe Brue Internal Drainage Board)
Cllr Anne Fraser (Sedgemoor District Council)
Nick Gupta (Environment Agency)
Matt Heard (Natural England)
David Jenkins (Wessex Regional Flood & Coastal Committee)
Cllr Tom Killen (Mendip District Council)
Peter Maltby (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
Cllr Ric Pallister (South Somerset District Council)
Cllr Anthony Trollope-Bellew (West Somerset Council)
Cllr John Williams (Taunton District Borough Council)

In Attendance:

Stuart Brown (Mendip District Council)
Rachel Burden (Environment Agency)
Brendan Cleere (Taunton Deane Borough Council)
Sarah Diacono (Somerset Rivers Authority)
Julian Gale (Somerset County Council)
Cllr David Hall (Somerset County Council)
Nick Stevens (Somerset Drainage Boards Consortium)
Iain Sturdy (Parrett IDB)
Vega Sturgess (South Somerset District Council)


Doug Bamsey (Sedgemoor District Council)
Brendan Cleere (Taunton Deane Borough Council)
Kathryn Holdsworth (Defra)
Duncan McGinty (Sedgemoor District Council)
Cllr Harvey Siggs (Mendip District Council)


1 Declarations of interest
Purpose: Transparency
All members

2 Draft minutes of previous meeting
Purpose: To agree accuracy
Lead: Chair
Document (downloadable PDF): SRA Board Meeting Draft Minutes 10 February 2016

3 Public Question Time
Purpose: To give the public chance to ask questions
Lead: Chair

4 2016-17 a) SRA 2016-17 programme of work b) 2016-17 budget
Purpose: To make a decision
Lead officer: SRA Manager
Documents (downloadable PDFs):
SRA 2016-17 Maintenance Programme
SRA 2016-17 Capital Programme
SRA Proposed Budget 2016-17
SRA 2016-17 Programme Summary
Map of Combined SRA Schemes 2016-17

5 Flood Action Plan Key Project Updates a) Bridgwater Barrier b) Dredging Strategy
Purpose: To update the Board on key Flood Action Plan projects
Lead officers: Doug Bamsey, Nick Stevens

6 SRA Local MoU and Constitution Review (discussion of detailed operational delegations to be held outside meeting)
Purpose: For discussion by the Board
Lead officer: SRA Manager
Documents (downloadable PDFs):
SRA Governance Structure 2015 onwards
Terms of Reference SRA Technical Group
SRA Local Memorandum of Understanding Revisions v6
SRA Local Memorandum of Understanding showing changes v6
SRA draft meeting dates 2016-17

7 Any Other Business (AOB)
Purpose: To raise urgent items (agreed with John Osman prior to the meeting)
Lead: Chair

Back To Top