Minutes, agenda, reports

A meeting of the Somerset Rivers Authority Board was held at 10am on 22 July 2015, at the offices of South Somerset District Council in Yeovil.

Below are links to a summary of decisions taken at the meeting and the Minutes. These documents tell you what happened at the meeting.

They are followed by lists of people attending the meeting, the agenda and informative supporting documents such as reports and updates.

Documents (downloadable PDFs):

SRA Board Summary of decisions 22 July 2015
Agreed Minutes SRA Board 22 July 2015

Members of the Board:

Cllr John Osman – Chairman (Somerset County Council)
Tony Bradford – Vice-Chairman (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
Ray Adlam (Axe Brue Internal Drainage Board)
Cllr Martin Dewdney (West Somerset Council)
Jeff Fear (Axe Brue Internal Drainage Board)
Nick Gupta (Environment Agency)
Matt Heard (Natural England)
David Jenkins (Wessex RFCC)
Peter Maltby (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
Cllr Duncan McGinty (Sedgemoor District Council)
Cllr Ric Pallister (South Somerset District Council)
Cllr Harvey Siggs (Mendip District Council)
Cllr John Williams (Taunton District Borough Council)

In Attendance:

Doug Bamsey (Sedgemoor District Council)
Emma Beardsley (Somerset County Council)
Martin Buckle (Somerset Rivers Authority)
Rachel Burden (Environment Agency)
Sarah Diacono (Somerset Rivers Authority)
Barry James (Somerset County Council)
Melanie Roberts (Somerset County Council)


Paula Hewitt (Somerset County Council)
Cllr Anthony Trollope-Bellew (West Somerset Council)


1 Declarations of Interest 
Purpose: Transparency
All members

2 Minutes of previous meeting 
Purpose: To agree accuracy
Lead: Chair
Document (downloadable PDF): SRA Board Meeting Draft Minutes 25 March 2015

3 Public Question Time 
Purpose: Please submit your question in writing via email with a 2 working day notice period to: sra@somerset.gov.uk
Lead: Chair

4 Local Memorandum of Understanding & Constitution – supporting officer groups and Technical Group Terms of Reference
Purpose: Decision
Lead Officer: Barry James
Document (downloadable PDF): SRA Technical Group Terms of Reference

5 Byelaws 
Purpose: Update on the use of Byelaws suggestion
Lead Officer: Barry James
Document (downloadable PDF): Byelaws SRA statement

6 Quarterly progress reports including; Financial Report, Enhanced Maintenance Programme & Common Works Programme
Purpose: To consider and make recommendations
Lead Officers: Emma Beardsley, Iain Sturdy, Martin Buckle
Documents (downloadable PDFs):
Q1 Finance Report 2015-16
Enhanced Maintenance Programme Q1 2015-16
Common Works Programme Q1 2015-16

7 Flood Action Plan- Leaders Status Report, with a focus on Parrett dredging & Parrett Barrier 
Purpose: Progress update, by exception
Lead Officers: Sarah Diacono, Rachel Burden, Doug Bamsey
Document (downloadable PDF): Leaders Status Report May-June 2015

8 The Economic Impact Assessment 
Purpose: To discuss the key points of the report
Lead Officer: Melanie Roberts
Documents (downloadable PDF):
Economic Impact Assessment full report
Summary of Economic Impact Assessment

9 DCLG/Defra/SRA Sustainable funding officer review
Purpose: Provide update on member governance timetable for preferred option decision
Lead Officer: Sarah Diacono

10 Any Other Business (AOB)
Purpose: To raise urgent items (agreed with John Osman prior to meeting)
Lead: Chair

Back To Top