Agenda, reports, Summary of Decisions and draft Minutes

A meeting of the Board of Somerset Rivers Authority was held on Friday 21 June 2019 at the headquarters of Somerset West and Taunton Council, in the Council Chambers, Deane House, Belvedere Road, Taunton, TA1 1HE.

Below are lists of people who attended, the meeting’s agenda and informative supporting documents such as reports and updates.

Read a Summary of Decisions taken by the Board of Somerset Rivers Authority on 21 June 2019.

Read DRAFT minutes of the Somerset Rivers Authority Board meeting held on 21 June 2019.

Members of SRA Board:
Ray Adlam (Axe-Brue Internal Drainage Board)
Emma Baker (Environment Agency)
Tony Bradford – Vice-Chair (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
Cllr Mike Caswell (Sedgemoor District Council)
Jeff Fear (Axe-Brue Internal Drainage Board)
Cllr David Hall – Chair (Somerset County Council)
Matthew Heard (Natural England)
Mark Heywoodsubstitute (Parrett Internal Drainage Board)
David Jenkins (Wessex Regional Flood & Coastal Committee)
Cllr Matt Martin (Mendip District Council)
Cllr Federica Smith-Roberts (Somerset West and Taunton Council)
Cllr Mike Stanton (South Somerset District Council)

In Attendance:
Dr Rachel Burden (Environment Agency)
Roger Burge (Somerset Drainage Boards Consortium)
Dave Coles (Sedgemoor District Council)
Michele Cusack (Somerset County Council)
Paul Deal (Mendip District Council)
Chris Hall (Somerset West and Taunton Council)
Rebecca Hall (Somerset County Council)
Jonathan Hudston (Somerset Rivers Authority)
David Mitchell (Somerset Rivers Authority)
Iain Sturdy (Somerset Drainage Boards Consortium)
Lindsey Tawse (Somerset County Council)
Cllr Alan Wedderkoppsubstitute (Somerset West and Taunton Council)

Doug Bamsey (Sedgemoor District Council)
Paula Hewitt (Somerset County Council)
Cllr Mike Pullinsubstitute (Somerset County Council)


1 Election of New Chair and Vice-Chair
Purpose: Governance
Lead: Lindsey Tawse

2 Apologies for absence
Purpose: Clarification
Lead: Chair

3 Declarations of interest
Purpose: Transparency
Lead: Chair

4 Minutes of previous meeting 1 March, 2019
Purpose: To agree accuracy
Lead: Chair
Document (downloadable PDF): Draft minutes of SRA Board meeting on 1 March 2019

5 Public Question Time
Purpose: To give the public chance to ask questions
Lead: Chair

6 Memorandum of Understanding 2019-20
Purpose: To approve and sign the updated MoU
Lead: Chair
Document (downloadable PDF): SRA partners’ Memorandum of Understanding 2019-20 including appendices

7 2018-19 review and looking to 2019-20 and beyond
Purpose: A presentation on what has been achieved and what is planned
Leads: David Mitchell, Jonathan Hudston

8 Quarter 4 2018-19 Finance Report
Purpose: To update the Board
Leads: Rebecca Hall, David Mitchell
Document (downloadable PDF): Quarter 4 2018-19 Finance Report

PLEASE NOTE: The report for Item 8 is not confidential, with the exception of an appendix which has been made available only to Members. This does contain exempt information and is therefore marked Confidential – Not for Publication. At any point if Members wish to discuss information within this paper then the Board will be asked to agree the following resolution to exclude the press and public:

Exclusion of the Press and Public

To consider passing a resolution under Regulation 4 of the Local Authorities (Executive Arrangements) (Meetings and Access to Information) (England) Regulations 2012 to exclude the press and public from the meeting on the basis that if they were present during the business to be transacted there would be a likelihood of disclosure of exempt information, within the meaning of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972.

Reason: Information relating to the financial or business affairs of any particular person (including the authority holding that information)

9 Precepting Legislation
Purpose: To update the Board
Lead: David Mitchell
Document (downloadable PDF): SRA Precepting Legislation update

10 Key project updates

10a: Taunton Strategic Flood Alleviation Improvements Scheme
Purpose: Update
Lead: Chris Hall
Document (downloadable PDF): Taunton Strategic Flood Alleviation Improvements Scheme update

10b: Oath to Burrowbridge Pioneer Dredging
Purpose: Update
Lead: Iain Sturdy
Document (downloadable PDF): Oath to Burrowbridge Pioneer Dredging Update

10c: River Sowy/ King’s Sedgemoor Drain (KSD)
Purpose: Update
Lead: Rachel Burden
Document (downloadable PDF): Sowy-King’s Sedgemoor Drain update

10d: Strategic Approach to Mitigation
Purpose: Update
Lead: Matt Heard
Document (downloadable PDF): Strategic Approach to Mitigation update

10e: River Brue
Purpose: Update
Lead: David Mitchell
Document (downloadable PDF): River Brue update

10f: Bridgwater Tidal Barrier
Purpose: Update
Lead: Rachel Burden
Document (downloadable PDF): Bridgwater Tidal Barrier update 

11 Draft National Flood and Coastal Erosion Risk Management Strategy
Purpose: To note the national Environment Agency consultation currently under way and consider whether the Board would like to submit a response.
Leads: Rachael Burden, David Mitchell

12 Forward Plan
Purpose: To update the Board on key items of future work
Lead: David Mitchell

13 Any Other Business (AOB)
Purpose: To raise urgent items (agreed with Vice-Chair prior to meeting)
Lead: Chair

Document (downloadable PDF): SRA Agenda and Guidance Notes for 21 June 2019 Board meeting

Next SRA Board meeting: 27 September 2019 at the headquarters of Sedgemoor District Council in King Square, Bridgwater.

Back To Top